Space is a distant fantasy for all of us. Every child at one point in his/her lifetime has wanted to be an astronaut. At the very least we all wanted to see the stars for ourselves. Dreams, unfulfilled dreams they are. Its still gonna take quite some time for us to colonize another planet(?). But rest assured Google gives you the next best thing. Google has again achieved something so fascinating it will be nothing short of a crime to ignore. Now you can use Google Maps to explore the solar system itself. And all you need is an internet connection.

google maps to explore solar system

Photo: Google Play

No one denies Google Maps to be a life saver. Whether its a shortcut to your office or hidden submarine bases in South China Sea, Google Maps has made it so easy. It has one MAJOR shortcoming though. It can only tell you about this planet. Our solar system has seven others.

Not anymore!

Now we can be astronauts without even lifting our asses. Google has uploaded about 500,000 images from our beloved Cassini spacecraft and used it to give us 3D maps of 16 different celestial bodies of our solar system. There’s Earth, the Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Pluto, Ceres, Io, Ganymede, Titan, Europa, Mimas, Enceladus, Dione, Rhea, Iapetus and the International Space Station(since 2017) as well.

google maps to explore solar system

PLUTO (Photo: Google Maps)

Although Google Street View cannot be used on the entire body, notable places of interest can be viewed via Street View. You can zoom in and view landmarks closely as you would have done with Google Maps on Earth. The only difference being there will be no more people or buildings, just desolate barren patches of land and mountains and craters of otherworldly fame. You can even know the length of each crater and the origin of their weird ass names.

“Explore the icy plains of Enceladus, where Cassini discovered water beneath the moon’s crust – suggesting signs of life. Peer beneath the thick clouds of Titan to see methane lakes. Inspect the massive crater of Mimas – while it might seem like a sci-fi look-a-like, it is a moon, not a space station,” the company wrote on its blog.

“The fun doesn’t stop there—we’ve added Pluto, Venus, and several other moons for a total of 12 new worlds for you to explore. Grab your spacesuit and check out the rest of this corner of the galaxy that we call home.”

google maps to explore solar system

VENUS (Photo: Google Maps)

Start your engines. Explore the unknown. Visit Google maps on this link here and come back astonished. Blast off!!!


Food for thought- What if I decide to watch The Martian again with this shit as reference 😉